This blog will be about my experiences of going mobilely digital with my Year 12 Religious Education class. Because two thirds of the class have access to either iPod Touches or iPhones, I have sourced a set of iPods for those who don’t own one or the other. It is my intention to teach the Religion and Life 1C/D units using iPod/iPhone technology. I will survey and interview my students over the twenty weeks that will make up their class time up to the end of Term Three. In Term Four, I will publish the results of my research.

In a digital society, learning becomes increasingly mobile. Mobile digital communication devices are just like a writer’s notebook, but with the potential to lay bare the world’s treasures – and also its shame. The world of the writer who makes copious notes throughout the day can become the norm for the student. The practice of texting friends can become the practice of note making as students think about the focus of their learning adventures.

I plan to produce readings as PDFs, which they will be able to load into iBooks via iTunes. One of the first activities will involve them in the task of copying a PDF to a reader, such as USB disk, or GoodReader Lite, both being free apps. Then they will be directed to copy parts of the document and pasting them into a note which they will make, first in Evernote, and second, in Springnote.

